Your privacy, explained
What we do at Snap
At Snap, our mission is to empower people to express themselves, live in the moment, learn about the world and have fun together.
To provide our services and make them better, we learn some things about you when you use Snapchat, Bitmoji and our other services. For example, if we know it’s your birthday, we can send you and your friends a Lens or Filter to help celebrate! Or, if we see that you’re spending a day at the beach, we can make sure your Bitmoji is dressed for the occasion. Nice, right?
To keep the lights on at Snap HQ, we make money by selling adverts. We use some of what we know about you to serve adverts you might be interested in – when you might be interested in them. For example, if you’ve been watching a lot of Snaps about fashion on Discover, we might show you adverts for the latest style of jeans. Or if you’ve clicked on a bunch of adverts for video games, we might keep those adverts coming! But we also use your information to avoid showing you adverts you probably won’t like. For example, if a ticketing site tells us you’ve already bought tickets for a film – or if you bought them through Snapchat – we can stop showing you adverts for it. Learn more.
How we gather information
First, we learn about you when you use our service. So, while you may not tell us you’re a sports fan, if you’re always watching football highlights on Discover and your Bitmoji is wearing your team colours, it’s a safe guess.
Second, we learn from whatever information you choose to give us. For example, when you set up a Snapchat account, we learn your birthday, email address and the unique name you’d like to go by.
Third, we sometimes learn about you from other people and services. For example, if a friend uploads their contact list, we might see your phone number. Or, if you tap on an advert for a video game, the advertiser may let us know that you installed it. Learn more.
How we share information
When we share information, it’s usually because you ask us to – like when you want to add a Snap to Our Story or send a Chat to a friend. Some of your information, like your username and Snapcode, is visible to the public by default.
How we store information
Snapchat is about living in the moment. That's why when you send a Snap or Chat, it's deleted by default after it's viewed or expires. Still, we may keep messages when you or a friend asks us to, like when you save a message in Chat or a Snap to Memories.
And remember: Snapchatters can always take a screenshot!
Other information may be stored for longer. For example, we store your basic account information until you ask us to delete it. And, we’re constantly collecting and updating information about the things you might like and dislike, so we can provide you with better content and advertisements. Learn more.
How you control your information
Want to update your account information or change who can watch your Story or see you on Snap Map? Just go to your settings in the app. Curious about your information that's not in the app? Go here to download your data. If you ever want to leave Snapchat and delete your account for good, we have tools for that too. Learn more.
How you can learn more
Still can’t find what you’re looking for? Don’t worry, just reach out to us, and our friendly support team will get back to you!